Lero alumna, Dr Lisa Kelly, has been shortlisted for the PhD Student of the Year award in the 2024 Postgrad Awards.

Dr Kelly was a PhD student of Lero Deputy Director, Professor Ita Richardson, and Professor Hillary Moss, Course Director, MA Music Therapy at University of Limerick. The PhD Student of the Year award recognises an individual PhD student who has shown outstanding research skills and has made an impact on their peers and research community.

Dr Kelly has been nominated for her innovative research involving people with dementia and their caregivers in music therapy, creating impactful, research-based artistic outcomes. Her work has significantly influenced clinical training, professional practice, and public awareness, enhancing the lives of those affected by dementia.

Award winners will be announced September 2024.

The Postgrad Awards recognise excellence in postgraduate higher education and are judged by highly experienced members of the higher education sector.